Basadi Ba Mintsu

Basadi Ba Mintsu is an all-woman, transnational, political art music collective comprised of four members: Beauty Sitoe (Mozambique), Ekaterine James (Cuba), Serati (South Africa) and Yurungai (Brazil), who together celebrate art and their ancestry through their musicality, uniting elements and sounds of traditional African music (with mbiras, guitars, violin and percussion). In concert, they present African folk songs, poetry, Brazilian and Cuban spirituals, and original compositions by the collective. The Basadi presentation has two formats: an acoustic format with some percussion accompaniment such as cajón, and the electric format with drums and bass.