The Brother Moves On

Globally acclaimed The Brother Moves On is made up of Ayanda Zalekile on vox & bass, Simphiwe Tshabalala on vox & drums, Siyabonga Mthembu on vox & chants, Zelizwe Mthembu on vox and guitar, Mthunzi Mvubu on alto sax and flute, Muhammad Dawjee on tenor sax and Malcolm Jiyane on trombone. 


They are a tradition-trouncing trans-Atlantic Afro-centric futuristically ancient fusion that jack-knifes between off-world spectral dub-metal, hyper rhythmic rock psychedelia, indie-township, and Astro-afro-free-jazz. They embrace a multi-genre, multimedia aesthetic, offering up a conceptechnic performance art project that incorporates historical, political, and sociological perspectives.


The collective has recorded two new albums, a retrospective of the South African jazz tradition Tolika Mtoliki with Matsuli Records (out December 2021) featuring Bokani Dyer, Muhammad Dawjee and Mthunzi Mvubu, and their sophomore album “S/he Who Feeds You…” due out on Native Rebels Records(UK) in March 2022. The collective is part of the acclaimed Indaba Is compilation which came out on Brownswood Recordings in January 2021, having recorded a track with Thandi Ntuli entitled Umthandazo Wamagenge.